The new Breeders record is scheduled to be released in April 2008.

Straight from the mouth of Kim Deal and typed by Kelley Deal.
I knew it was coming next year from the little bits I have seen round the ‘net but there it is in black and white.

The new Breeders record is scheduled to be released in April 2008. There are 13 songs. Mando Lopez is still on bass, Jose Medeles on drums, Kelley Deal, my evil twin, on guitar and vocals, and I’m playing guitar and vocals.

The songs are just songs. But for instance, one song Kelley and I did live. She played stand-up bass and I played acoustic guitar while we sang. Steve Albini taped it live like that. Yet another song has Kelley playing bass and Mando playing rhythm guitar. I’m playing the lead and Kelley and I are singing throughout. On song has Mando playing a lead guitar which Albini then backward masked. One song has three, count ’em, three basses on it….

Source – Venus Zine

To say I am mildly excited would be an understatement. I just can’t wait till they tour the album. If/When they come to Aus, you can bet my bottom dollar that I might just go to more than just the Brisbane Show.

The Breeders are by no means my most listened band but they are the band which has influenced me the most. I can still vividly remember watching the Safari video clip on a Rage tape and been blown away. Who was this band?

They played Brisbane in Feb 2003. I turned 18 in Sep 2003. I was beyond devastated.

That was written yesterday, this morning when I logged onto Myspace this bulletin was waiting for me.


4AD is pleased to announce the forthcoming world-wide release of Mountain Battles, the new album from The Breeders on Tuesday, April 8, 2008 (April 7 outside of North America).

The Breeders released their last album – Title TK – back in 2002. Since then, of course, Kim Deal has been part of one of the most highly successful and warmly received music reunions of all time, getting back together with the rest of The Pixies for a series of exhilarating live shows in 2004 and 2005. After that, Kim headed back to Dayton, Ohio to start writing a new record.

Mountain Battles is the result. It’s an album which captures all the bittersweet electricity of classic Breeders records like Pod and Last Splash, and which breaks new ground at the same time; classic sounding, yet as relevant and exciting as ever.

Mountain Battles was recorded by Steve Albini at Electrical Audio in Chicago, Erika Larson at Stagg Street, Manny Nieto at Manny’s Studio, at Refraze in Dayton and by Ben Mumphrey in the Basement.

The Breeders are : Kelley Deal, Kim Deal, Jose Medeles and Mando Lopez; Jose and Mando are both veterans of the Title TK campaign.

The Breeders will be playing live all over the world in 2008. Their schedule includes performances at Canadian Music Week and SxSW and Coachella, plus full tours in the USA and in Europe.

The Breeders are also set to play a full UK tour in April to mark the release of the album.

The Mountain Battles tracklisting is :

1. Overglazed
2. Bang On
3. Night Of Joy
4. We’re Gonna Rise
5. German Studies
6. Spark
7. Istanbul
8. Walk It Off
9. Regalame Esta Noche
10. Here No More
11. No Way
12. It’s The Love
13. Mountain Battles

We’re Gonna Rise is currently streaming on The Breeders myspace page. I am at work for another 7hrs 45mins. The first thing I will be doing when getting home is listening to that song πŸ˜€